Stardust

Writings from my little corner of modern domesticity.

Day 2/40: Checking In

Day 2 of my 40 Days of Cleaning adventure and we’re on track (and will even be a little ahead, but I’ll get to that). I knocked out the bathroom cabinets yesterday, and did the tea cupboard today, tossing more than I’d thought out of each and completely neglecting to take pictures of anything. Ah well…I’ll do better.

Just like I’m trying to do better about getting back to my original goal of 3 posts per week to this thing. I miss writing, and I notice a great difference in my overall mood, patience, and drive when I make time for it.

Since I noticed some of the things I tossed in these two days were kit essentials, so to speak, I’ve been making a shopping list as I go along. While some items I’d rather replace ASAP, like the children’s ibuprofen and Tums (which my pregnant bum has sorely missed since we ran out- swear to you, with all the heartburn, I’m having a Wookie!), some of it I know can wait and I’ve started watching ads and seeking coupons to make my replacements as inexpensive as possible.

One such place is my makeup stash, which will be meeting its doom as soon as I finish this post. (This is the part that puts me technically slightly ahead, as it’s part of the dresser cleanup!) Now, some of you reading this are probably saying “Makeup? She owns makeup?” Yes, yes I do- I just don’t use it often. Once in a while if I just want the fun of some eyeshadow and mascara, or if we’re going out, like to that wedding last August and the one we’re headed to Georgia for this October. It’s actually rather extensive in the eye and lip departments, mostly due to the fact that I was a mark. representative, which is like a junior branch of Avon.
The obvious side effect of not using much very often is that, well, most of it really needs to go. While I did have the sense to have a good collection of neutral, suitable for every-day wear colors, I think the last time I bought a lipstick or gloss was probably 2011. Well past the advised expiration date of about a year. Shoot, the newest piece of the stash is my mascara, and that I’m pretty sure I bought in 2014, but I’m not entirely sure.
Now, I’m not prepared to completely ditch having a stash- like I said, I do occasionally find use for it -but I definitely don’t need to replace the entire thing. That would be ridiculous, both in terms of cash output and storage. But I’ll want new foundation, maybe 2-3 eyeshadows, mascara, and a lipcolor or two. Maybe some pressed powder and concealer, but I really shouldn’t own more than 10 pieces, seeing how little I use anything. The options for all of that have seriously expanded even just in the 4 years since I bought lipstick, so I’m going to have to do some research and read some reviews before I commit to anything, especially since I’m looking at more of a drugstore price range than department store. I don’t want anything to cost me more than $10- especially if it’s a tiny container! I need bang for the buck here, as with everything else. Makeup can be very much like toilet paper- the cheap stuff just costs you more in the long run and you can totally tell the difference when you use it.

Anyway…enough chatter- off to do some cleaning and purging (and photo-taking!) before naptime gets away from me!

Leave a Reply

