Stardust

Writings from my little corner of modern domesticity.

Hello Again

Wow, has it been 2 years (or, as I tend to think of time now, 26 months) already? That was quite a hiatus we had there, wasn’t it?

So much has changed. The brightest of which: I am a mother now, to a beautiful girl whose first birthday passed us in August just now. She was born just about a full year after I went on leave from Stardust. Pure providence, there- I had no time to tend this baby while also tending my living baby!

We have moved- again. My husband is now working towards his Master’s degree and teaching at his university, and I am enjoying a brief pause as a stay-at-home-mom these last 2 months as we’ve been moving and settling in. There are quite a lot of greenhouses nearby, and of course, many retailers starting seasonal hiring, so between the two, I am hopeful to find work again very soon.

It has not, and still is not, an easy step in our journey right now. But we are doing what parents do- making the best plan they can with what they have to get to the life they want for their children. We are where we are so that, when school is finished for Ryan, I may be able to stay home and raise our family. There are many reasons we want this and why we feel it is right for us that I’m sure I will get into at some point, but for now, I have to skip over it, as the baby- let’s call her Moonbaby for now -will be up from her nap at any moment!

I am here, now, on my 25th birthday, reopening this little window into our lives- our adventure, and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

I’ll be back soon to muse about my birthday and share a recipe for a sugar scrub I just made myself to celebrate (funny how your celebrations change, isn’t it?). Many of my postings now will likely occur later at night, after Moonbaby has gone to bed, as she has reached that age where Mama is her favorite toy, despite being dreadfully spoiled with all sorts of inanimate (and battery-operated) ones!

Leave a Reply

