Stardust

Writings from my little corner of modern domesticity.

The Wheel Turns

The wheel in the sky keeps on turnin’
I don’t know where I’ll be tomorrow
Wheel in the sky keeps on turnin’

-Journey, Wheel in the Sky

Some upturns and some downturns here on this side of the blog. Ryan lost the primary, gathering at last count 38% of the vote in the district, which is absolutely remarkable for a political unknown. He’s now studying for his actuarial exams and analyzing what he’s going to do differently in two years when he has another go at it. So things have calmed down for us somewhat here, and that’s nice.

My house also sold 😦 I’m moderately heartbroken- but maybe the present owner (who seems, from what I’ve seen coming and going, to be a single 30-something male) is just fixing it up to resell it in a year or so. Which will put a higher price tag on it, most certainly, but we’ll see how it goes.
But I’ve been working, and I’m getting a handle on my new scheduling, even though it’s irregular and a little wonky. So I’m spending my day off today getting the apartment whipped into shape and cleaned up so I can finally get some photos up here. Really- my goal is to have them up by this time next week (or my closest day off to that time). I’m planning on spending my evenings after work in the time between working on the photos and typing up the entries beforehand so I can make sure to get them all ready to go. And, of course, some kitten updates, too, because the internet loves cats.

Still working on the problem of the wall by the door to the porch. I did really like the suggestion I got about a tall plant for the one corner- seems like a great solution for that weird little space! I need more plants indoors anyway.  Just need to find the right plant, container, and a little under-pot dolly for making moving it around easier. Anything but a Ficus (my days working at the MSU greenhouses have ruined Ficus trees for me)!

Leave a Reply

