Stardust

Writings from my little corner of modern domesticity.

It Could Always Be Worse

This is one of my mantras for life. Seriously- and I don’t mean it in a pessimistic sense.

I’ve been through a lot in my short years- a lot of us have these days -and this has helped me cope and carry on. People tend to get annoyed when I say it, because it’s now my first reaction to a problem, and they feel I’m being dismissive, but I promise you, that’s not it at all!

It’s not a sense of “Well, this sucks,” or “It’s not that bad, stop whining,”  or dismissive of anyone’s problems, it’s a sense that while things are bad or there’s a tricky problem at hand, it’s not as bad as it could be, and you’ll get through it.

I refer to it as realistic optimism- acknowledging that the situation at hand is rough, but also that it is more manageable than it could be otherwise.

It’s pushed me through problems large and small, and helps me not get hung up on them. A little dose of perspective goes a long way. Like when I graduated from MSU this past May- neither one of us had a job, we didn’t know where we were going to be living (with my lease on my student apartment expiring in 10 days), and we were already having to pay back some of Ryan’s student loans. Not a fun situation. But we had some savings in the bank and marketable talents and degrees, so we were better off than we could have been.

I feel like I’m not articulating the concept properly, but that’s about the bones of it. In the awkward times we find ourselves in these days, particularly financially, I think a lot of people would be happier if they took that to heart. Lots of us are in less-than-ideal situations, but lots of us are also pretty well off, relatively speaking, and a little gratitude for that helps to calm the worry and open the mind to working through it to something better.

 

Leave a Reply

