Stardust

Writings from my little corner of modern domesticity.

A Gardener Lost

Spring is making a blitz of a comeback here in Michigan, and I love it. The sunshine does nothing for my homework productivity or willingness to go to class, but that’s another story…

It’s time for airing out the apartment- throwing open the windows and letting the breeze have its way with the dust and the papers scattered about.

It’s also time for me to be mildly sad.

Why, you say, when the world around me is bursting into bloom? Well, that’s simple…

I don’t have a garden.

I am a gardener without a garden to tend, and not knowing what sort of window, balcony, or patio space I might have in my next living arrangements, I can’t even get a start on any containers. It’s…unsettling at best. The earth is coming back from her winter’s slumber, and I have no seeds to plant or plots to plan to greet her return.

I just don’t even know what to do with myself…sure, I have a pile of young plants (and by pile, I mean probably a couple hundred or so…) in a greenhouse under my care for a class, but it’s just not the same as watching carefully-tended seedlings burst forth from the ground (or a pot). Probably try to force some things along indoors once I know what I’ve got space for…but argh! I just want to plant NOW!!!

What’s a plant geek to do?

Leave a Reply

