Stardust

Writings from my little corner of modern domesticity.

Getting it Under Control

It seems things are finally really settling in from the start of the new semester, or at least, I’m getting a routine down. It always takes a little while between major shifts in schedules for the dust to settle, and in the time between, things can get out of hand. I don’t think I’ve vacuumed in a couple weeks at this point! There are plants needing cleanup, Christmas gifts that still need to find homes, recycling to go out…at least I’ve kept up on the bathroom!

The good news is that this is the last time we’ll have to deal with a major shift in schedule like a semester change again, until children or grad school comes along. ‘Cause at long last, I’m graduating! Got the news from both colleges last week, and I’m so excited it’s not even funny. I’ve been in school for 18 years straight- summers included for the last five of them -and I’m ready for a break. At the same time, I like college. I really do. I think with some time off, I could do another 20 years no problem. And I’ll admit, it’s a little scary heading out into the world to find a job. Especially because I’m going to be in school until after the spring planting rush, and only really available once everyone starts the sales rush, at which point they’ll have already wanted me trained and ready to go. We’ll see, though. I’ve got a lead that would be just perfect for us that I’ve got to follow up on.

So I guess, really, getting my “real world” job will be the last of my schedule shifts. I just hope it happens for me faster than it happened for Ryan- we’re about to have real bills, what with those student loans coming due, and I’ve got to get something quick.

Especially since it might actually, then, be in our budget to get a house rather than an apartment.

But with my schedule settling out, I’ve got more freedom to wedge in the good habits we’re both trying to instill for the rest of our lives. Actual exercise regularly, eating well, and with the PCOS, making sure I’m taking my vitamins like I should be. It doesn’t sound like much, the vitamins, but I was a child who always resisted taking my meds, and some of that residual “ick, pills!” has stuck with me, despite me knowing as an adult that I need them, since I lack the capability to ensure that I get every little vitamin I need in proper amounts from diet alone right now.

Leave a Reply

