Stardust

Writings from my little corner of modern domesticity.

Friday, Wonderful Friday

The one admirable thing about my fall class schedule is that I’m finished with class by 11:10 Friday mornings. Which means I have a great deal of a day to get things done left after.

Starting with laundry. For whatever reason, I really hate doing laundry on Fridays. I don’t know what it is- maybe it reminds me of being in the dorms and running home to do a load, I don’t know…but something causes me to dislike Friday as a laundry day. Even though here, barely anyone else does it on Fridays, leaving me with a nearly-empty laundromat and no concern for waiting for a dryer.

Not looking forward to figuring out our new place’s residents’ laundry pattern. So far, it looks like we’re going to be moving into the apartments Ryan lived in before, but they’re on a first-come, first-served basis when there’s an opening, and on a month-to-month billing, so we really won’t know until April if there’s going to be a space for us. Which makes me incredibly nervous, but hey, what’re you going to do? They’re pretty much perfect for what we need right now.

But anyway…anyone who’s ever lived in apartments or had to do laundry via laundromat knows that timing is essential. Knowing the rhythms of a shared laundry facility determines how efficiently you’ll be able to get yours done, and whether or not you’re going to have to sit with a basket of wet laundry while waiting for a dryer, or haul some inconsiderate patron’s underwear out of the dryer that’s been finished for 20 minutes without any sign of the underwear’s owner.

That has got to be my biggest peeve about laundromats- people that leave their stuff unattended during high-use periods. If there’s 5 dryers free and your stuff sits for 10 minutes because you went off to do something that took a little longer than expected, whatever- it happens. But if every dryer in the place is running and there’s a line of people waiting for them, you’d best move your crap. And I have no qualms whatsoever about pulling people’s stuff out and setting it on a folding table to wait for them. If you don’t want me touching your laundry, get it out of the damned dryer! I’ve seen people wait whole cycles for unattended laundry to be taken care of, at which point their laundry could very well have been finished.

But anyway…Fridays. Being blessed with this fantastic amount of time every week, I naturally want to make good use of it. So today I’m running about tending to some things I’ve been neglecting as I’ve been adjusting to school (including a post about progress on that closet…really!), fetching craft supplies, and taking care of a few miscellaneous errands I’ve been meaning to tend to but have lacked the proper time for accomplishing.

It’s good to know, though, that on less action-packed weeks, I will have the time to nap if I want, play Skyrim, do homework, spend time with friends, or work on whatever zany little project I have rolling at the time. Not a bad reward for being on the brink of two bachelor’s degrees, I say 🙂 I could really enjoy this last semester, I think.

Happy Friday, everyone!

Leave a Reply

