Stardust

Writings from my little corner of modern domesticity.

The Cookie Update

It’s a chocolate-chip invasion in my kitchen right now. I used the recipe out of the Better Homes & Gardens plaid cookbook, except that I accidentally put in twice the butter because I got it mixed up mentally with the Tollhouse bag recipe. Oops!

But that didn’t seem to bother them any. They progressed just fine from a large bowl of dough…

…to several batches of lovely little lumps…

…and finally to this fantastic tower of cookie goodness:

For anyone wondering, they’re resting on a Wilton Excelle Elite 3-Tier, an expensive-sounding but fairly inexpensive (I think it was $12 and I had a coupon on top of that) cooling rack that is in three individual but stackable pieces. I love them. If you ever do any quantity of baking at a time, I wholeheartedly recommend them. One of my favorite parts is that the legs fold down and these store nearly flat- altogether the set of three collapses to about 3″ thick when stored together.

So there are now 61 happy, golden cookies resting in my kitchen. There were 62, but, well…you know how I am with cookies. I don’t notice the butter mishap at all in the taste. I do think they’re a little less chewy than I like my cookies, and that they could stand to be sweeter, but they’re delicious nevertheless. Not a bad run for my first-ever batch of homemade cookies. (The ones out of a bag of mix don’t count!)

Now I just have to hope that at least 50 of them survive ’till tomorrow, when I plan to take them to some people I know and love 🙂

Yes, Ryan, that means keep your paws off of them!

Leave a Reply

