Stardust

Writings from my little corner of modern domesticity.

Flowers in the Kitchen

*sigh* I’ve been wanting to have flowers in this place since we moved in. The ones on the houseplants (when my African violets cooperate) and dried roses don’t count. I mean fresh-cut flowers. I don’t know what it is, but to me, there’s something very well-loved and finished about a room with fresh flowers in it, whether or not the “finished” part is true.

Got the very first arrangement in Monday night. I did a little clean-up out in the garden, pinching tomatoes* and cutting away anything that had died already in preparation for it getting cold, and harvesting, of course. My cosmos had finally decided to bloom, and there were some very lovely flowers on the Chinese chives, so I picked a few, and borrowed some wild yellow snapdragons out of the back field, as well as some lovely sprigs of a weed grass I’m not sure of the name of for greenery, and made myself a cute little bouquet. Brought them home and used my know-how from my cut flowers class as part of my horticulture degree program, and voila:

I know; it’s not the whole thing. But I couldn’t get a good shot without getting ridiculous amounts of kitchen/junk in there, and it’s a pain to move the arrangement because it’s in three separate vases, as I don’t own any big ones, or even medium-sized ones. Just tall, shot-glass diameter ones.

I particularly love the chives flowers- they’re always so quirky and lovely because of it:

I also have a photo of my harvest for you. The tomatoes are mostly green (well, the big ones) because they were on branches I was discarding, and tomatoes ripen after you pick them, so I decided not to waste perfectly good tomatoes. There are cucumbers, heirloom tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, sage, garden beans, thyme, and parsley in there. The thyme and parsley are bunched with zip-ties because that’s what I had on me in the gardens (for fixing trellises and affixing plants to them) when the whim to harvest herbs struck. They’re still cute. Pardon also that dead bug on the sink. Eew.

*When September hits Michigan, it’s best to pinch off any flowers on the tomatoes that aren’t yet tomatoes. That way, you’re guaranteed the tomatoes already formed, and the plants devote more resources to getting them ripened before the frost. The flowers typically won’t have good fruit in time at this point, anyway.

Leave a Reply

